Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
Committee - NC PACE

Committee Charge

NC PACE stands for the Political Action for Candidate Election. This is the political action committee of NASW-NC. Members of this committee make endorsements of candidates for local and state elections. NASW-NC's NC-PACE may make financial contributions, in kind donations of mailing labels, and will mobilize volunteers for candidates. Only members of NASW-NC can give money to PACE and only members of PACE make those endorsements. The goal of endorsing candidates is to elect candidates that uphold the values of NASW-NC and our social work members. 


How Endorsements are Made

Both Kay Castillo, Director of Advocacy, Policy & Legislation, & Kathy Boyd, Executive Director, are registered lobbyists for the association. They are prohibited by law from giving money to campaigns. Neither of them will be making decisions as to whom we would endorse as a political action committee. Kay is the staff liaison to the PACE and coordinates with our co-chairs for meetings.


2016 PACE Endorsements: See who won and who lost on our endorsement list!

Current members of NC PACE: 


Sara Nafziger-Shelly
Hickory, NC 


Dan Hudgins
Durham, NC 


Suzanne Martin
Raleigh, NC


Janet Haywood
Kannapolis, NC
Lynne Walter
Raleigh, NC

Blair Barton Percival
Greensboro, NC



Information on National PACE



To Join this Committee

Any NASW-NC member may volunteer to serve on this committee with no term limit. If interested, contact Kay Castillo



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal