Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Member Awards- Toby Brown Award


The purpose of the award is to recognize Toby Brown's commitment to BSW education and BSW students through the development of a scholarship award. This scholarship fund was established in memory of and to honor Dr. James S. Toby Brown who died in 1995. He was an Assistant Professor of Social Work at North Carolina State University and was a much-recognized educator and practitioner.


The fund provides an annual award of up to $1,500 to a graduating BSW student from a CSWE-accredited program.


Applicants for the scholarship award must:

  • Demonstrate outstanding academic work
  • Demonstrate outstanding accomplishments and work in the field during an internship
  • Be a member of NASW
  • Be involved in the student social work association at their school
  • Be a BSW student in a CSWE accredited social work program in North Carolina

To Apply

Click here to download application. Application packets must be received via email on or before April 1. Because of the COVID-19 public health emergency, the application deadline has been extended to May 1! 

In order to be eligible for the award, students must submit a completed application packet, which includes all required supporting documents.

Selection and Recognition of Recipients

All completed applications are reviewed by the Toby Brown Award Committee, which is appointed by the NASW-NC Board of Directors. The chair of the committee notifies the recipient of the award by phone, and notification is followed up in writing to all applicants from the NASW-NC Chapter. A certificate and a check are presented to the recipient at spring graduation (when possible) by a representative of NASW-NC. The recipient's name is added to a permanent plaque displayed in the NASW-NC office.

Award Administration

The Toby Brown Recognition Award Fund is administered by the NASW Foundation.

For More Information

Applications and additional information about the award and about the fund are available from: NASW-NC, P.O. Box 27582, Raleigh, NC 27611-7582. Also, you can call: (919) 828-9650 (within the Raleigh calling area/out of state); or (800) 280-6207 (within North Carolina); or email

Make A Donation

If you would like to make a donation to the NASW-NC Toby Brown Award please click here.  Your donation is 100% tax deductible and 100% of your donation goes towards awards.


If you wish to donate a silent auction item, please email here.


Toby Brown Award Recipients

2019 - José Cañas

Fayetteville State University


2018 - Abrielle (Abby) Cozart

North Carolina State University


2017 - Dielle McMillan

Meredith College

2016 - Charles "Chase" Holleman

UNC Greensboro


2015 - Brian Weir

Methodist University

2014 - Tiffany Deans
North Carolina State University


2013 - Dana Cronkhite
UNC Wilmington

2012 - Nancy May
Methodist University


2011 - Marvin Kent Purser
Western Carolina University


2010 - Steven Whitehorn
Western Carolina University


2009 - Alisha Marie Nash
North Carolina State University


2008 - Jessie Rosenberg
North Carolina State University


2007 - Heather Sandala
UNC Wilmington


2006 - April Bauer
North Carolina State University


2005 - Enausa Davis-Robinson
Methodist College


2004 - Catherine Pellizzari
North Carolina State University


2003 - Tony L. Akins
UNC Wilmington


2002 - Mary "Carole" Blanc
Methodist College


2001 - Heather Shiffer
North Carolina State University


2000 - Kerry Krisman
North Carolina State University


1999 - Glenn Carter
Methodist College


1998 - Martha Cowett
North Carolina State University


1997 - Therese Lambe
UNC Charlotte


1996 - John A. Lauve
North Carolina State University

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal