Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
2020 PACE Endorsements
Share |

2020 Candidate Endorsements

NASW Code of Ethics Standard 6.04 Social and Political Action

(a) Social workers should engage in social and political action that seeks to ensure that all people have equal access to the resources, employment, services, and opportunities they require to meet their basic human needs and to develop fully. Social workers should be aware of the impact of the political arena on practice and should advocate for changes in policy and legislation to improve social conditions in order to meet basic human needs and promote social justice.


The NASW-NC PACE Committee is thrilled to be endorsing the list of candidates below for North Carolina statewide races. NASW-NC does not endorse local or Congressional races. Members of NASW can find NASW endorsements of U.S. Congressional races here. While there are many great candidates running for office in North Carolina this year, NASW-NC does not have the capacity to endorse for all races.


Several key factors that went into the final endorsement list: how competitive the races were in particular districts, ethnic and gender diversity of the candidates and votes taken on issues of importance to the social work profession of the candidates that are incumbents in the years they have served. Candidates do not have to agree on all NASW-NC legislative priority items. 

NASW-NC PACE is a nonpartisan committee and party affiliations do not play a factor into endorsements.

Websites for all of the candidates are provided so members can learn more about each particular candidate. * Notes an incumbent. 


Find out more about the 2020 Elections from the NASW-NC Voting Information Page!


If you have questions about endorsements or are a candidate seeking endorsement, please contact to get connected to the PACE Committee.

Council of State

NC Attorney General- Josh Stein*

Commissioner of Agriculture- Jenna Wadsworth

Commissioner of Labor- Jessica Holmes

Insurance Commissioner- Wayne Goodwin

State Treasurer- Ronnie Chatterji

Secretary of State- Elaine Marshall*

Lieutenant Governor- Yvonne Holley




District 1- Emily Nicholson

Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington Counties


District 11 - Allison Dahle*

Wake County


District 18 - Deb Butler*

Brunswick and New Hanover Counties


District 19 - Marcia Morgan

New Hanover County


District 31 - Zack Hawkins*

Durham County


District 33 - Rosa Gill*

Wake County


District 34 - Grier Martin*

Wake County


District 35 - Terrence Everitt*

Wake County


District 36 - Julie Von Haefen*

Wake County



District 37 - Sydney Batch, JD, MSW*

Wake County


District 40 - Joe John*

Wake County

District 41 - Gale Adcock*

Wake County



District 43 - Dr. Kimberly Hardy, BSW, MSW, PhD
Cumberland County

District 45 - Frances Jackson
Cumberland County

District 49 - Cynthia Ball*

Wake County



District 50 - Graig Meyer, MSW*

Durham and Orange Counties


District 54 - Robert Reives*

Chatham and Lee Counties


District 59 - Nicole Quick
Guilford County

District 63 - Ricky Hurtado

Alamance County

District 66 - Scott Brewer*
Montgomery, Richmond, Stanly Counties Forsyth Counties

District 71 - Evelyn Terry* (Representative Terry does not have an active campaign website. You can find her voting record at
Forsyth County

District 74 - Dan Besse

Forsyth County Cabarrus County

District 82 - Aimy Steele
Cabarrus County

District 83 - Gail Young
Cabarrus, Rowan Counties

District 88 - Mary Belk*

Mecklenburg County


District 98 - Christy Clark*

Mecklenburg County


District 100 - John Autry*

Mecklenburg County


District 101 - Carolyn Logan*
Mecklenburg County

District 102 - Becky Carney*
Mecklenburg County

District 103 - Rachel Hunt*

Mecklenburg County


District 104 - Brandon Lofton*

Mecklenburg County


District 105 - Wesley Harris*
Mecklenburg County

District 106 - Carla Cunningham*

Mecklenburg County


District 114 - Susan Fisher*

Buncombe County



District 7 - Donna Lake
Lenior, Wayne Counties

District 9 - Harper Peterson*

New Hanover County


District 11 - Allen Wellons
Johnston, Nash Counties

District 16 - Wiley Nickel*
Wake County

District 18 - Sarah Crawford

Franklin and Wake Counties


District 19 - Kirk deViere*

Cumberland County


District 20 - Natalie Murdock*
Durham County

District 22 - Mike Woodard* (Senator Woodard does not have an active campaign website but you can learn more about his voting record by looking at his legislative profile on the North Carolina General Assembly Website)

Caswell, Durham, and Person Counties


District 23 - Valerie Foushee*

Chatham, Orange Counties

District 24 - JD Wooten

Alamance, Guilford Counties

District 27 - Michael Garrett*
Guilford County

District 31 - Terri LeGrand

Durham County

District 39 - DeAndrea Salvador
Mecklenburg County

District 41 - Natasha Marcus*
Mecklenburg County

District 47 - David Wheeler

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, and Yancey Counties



Cheri Beasley*- Chief Justice of NC Supreme Court

Gray Styers- NC Court of Appeals Seat 6

Chris Brook*- NC Court of Appeals Seat 13

Tricia Shields- NC Court of Appeals Seat 3

Reuben F. Young*- NC Court of Appeals Seat 7

Mark Davis*- Associate Justice on NC Supreme Court

Lucy Inman- NC Supreme Court Seat 2

Lora Cubbage- NC Court of Appeals Seat 5


Read about why Judicial Elections matter here!



Additionally, the NASW-NC PACE Committee has endorsed NASW-NC Member Jillian Riley who is running for Durham's Soil and Water Conservation District.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal