Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Committee - Toby Brown Award

The Toby Brown Committee was established in order to develop and carry out a scholarship program for BSW students in North Carolina and receives its continued charge from the NASW-NC Board of Directors. Any NASW-NC member can volunteer to be a committee member and there are no term limits. The chair of the committee volunteers as chair and is officially appointed by the President of NASW-NC.

Committee Charge

The charge of the Toby Brown Committee is to carry out the Toby Brown Award Program. This includes fund development and fund raising duties so as to insure the continued existence of the award, recruitment of nominees, selection and recognition of the yearly winner.

Committee Chairperson

Linda Williams

Committee Members

Donna Bartlett
Eileen Hodiak

Susie Mallard Barnes

Candace Payne-Butler

Beth Vogler


NASW-NC Staff Contact

Valerie Arendt MSW, MPP, Executive Director




The Toby Brown Silent Auction at Fall Conference 2013 raised just over $1,900 for the Award! Thanks to all who helped make this auction a success with your donations and bids!



About the Toby Brown Award

The fund provides an annual award of $1,000 to a graduating BSW student from a CSWE accredited program.  The award recognizes exceptional academic achievement and field work of graduating BSW students. 


This fund was established in memory of and to honor Dr. James S. Toby Brown who died on May 4, 1995. He was an Assistant Professor of Social Work at North Carolina State University and was a much-recognized educator and practitioner.  The award is given to the BSW student applicant that best reflects and represents the ethics, values, and passion of Toby Brown and his work in the field of social work.


Click here for more information about the NASW-NC Toby Brown Award and to access the application form.


To Join this Committee

Any NASW-NC member may volunteer to serve on this committee with no term limit. If interested, please contact the NC Chapter office at 919-828-9650. Once added to the Toby Brown Award Committee, you will begin receiving committee-related correspondence from Chapter staff, the Committee Chair, and fellow Committee members as needed.


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal