Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Government Relations-Advocacy Awards


About the Award

The NASW-NC Myrna Miller Wellons Advocacy Award is an annual award given to someone who has demonstrated a strong passion to advocate for the needs of the social work profession and/or policy issues. This nominee has been a champion in impacting policy both for the social work profession and the clients served by social workers.

The Award, previously the Advocate of the Year Award, was renamed in 2010 in honor of the late Myrna Miller Wellons, a past Director of Government Relations for NASW-NC and strong advocate for the social work profession. Mrs. Wellons was a tireless advocate for many issues and a mentor to many social workers across the state.


Award Criteria

Candidates must be nominated, must be NC residents and have demonstrated a clear passion for advocating on behalf of social workers. The nominee can be a social worker, elected official, or anyone who has made a difference through advocacy. Anyone can nominate.

Selection and Recognition of Recipients

All completed nomination packets received by December 15, 2019 will be reviewed by the NASW-NC Legislative Committee and considered for the Award. In selecting the Award winner, weight is placed on active involvement in advocating on behalf of the social work profession and/or social work client populations.

NASW-NC recognizes the Award Winner in the following ways:

  1. A photo of the Award winner along with an article appears on the front page of the NASW-NC newsletter.
  2. Press releases may be sent to area media.
  3. Information about the winner is placed on the NASW-NC web page.
  4. The winner is presented with a plaque at the NASW-NC annual Ethics and Recognition & Awards Conference.
  5. The winner is recognized at any of the NASW-NC conferences that they attend. This recognition is usually in the form of a verbal announcement made during the announcements and introductions done during the conference plenary.

Nomination Procedure

Download the Nomination Form!

Forms may also be requested from the NASW-NC Chapter office by calling 800-280-6207 or 919-828-9650, or emailing Kay Castillo. Nomination forms must be accompanied by the following documentation:

  1. History of employment and/or volunteer experience (with dates) OR resume of nominee.
  2. Discuss how the nominee has advocated for policy impacting the social work profession and the clients   served by social workers. Specific examples are required.
  3. Discuss the nominee’s involvement in professional, civic and community organizations, giving specific examples.

For More Information

Nomination forms and additional information about the Myrna Miller Wellons Advocacy Award are available from:

P.O. Box 27582
Raleigh, NC 27611-7582
Telephone: (919) 828-9650 or (800) 280-6207
Fax: (919) 828-1341
Contact by Email


2019 Award Winner

Miea Walker

Past Award Winners

Chase Holleman, 2018

Nicholle Karim, 2017
Dana Courtney, 2016

Lauren Zingraff, 2015
Barbara Zelter, 2014

Jenny Gadd, 2013

Richard Ballard, 2012
Representative Rick Glazier, 2010
Methodist University Social Work Department, 2010
NC School Social Work Association, 2008

Representative Martha Alexander, 2008
Gary Shaffer, 2007

Senator Martin L. Nesbitt Jr., 2007

Representative Jennifer Weiss, 2005

Representative Verla Insko, 2004

Senator William N. Martin, 2003

Senator Steve Metcalf, 2002

Senator William Purcell, 2000

Representative Martha Alexander, 1999

Senator Howard Lee, 1999

Beverly Perdue, 1998

Dan Beerman, 1997

Dan Hudgins, 1998

Senator William N. Martin, 1996

Bill Crawford, 1994

Dee Gamble, 1994

Representative Elaine Marshall, 1994

Wilburn Hayden, Jr., 1993

Helen Rhyne Marvin, 1993

Pat Bullard, 1989


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal