Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Members Awards- Social Worker of the Year


About the Social Worker of the Year Award

The NASW-NC Social Worker of the Year Award is an annual

award given to a social work professional who has demonstrated commendable social work practice and involvement with NASW and other professional, civic, and community organizations.

Award Criteria

Candidates for the Social Worker of the Year Award must be nominated. Nominees must be members of NASW and residents of North Carolina. Current members of the NASW-NC Board of Directors are not eligible for the Social Worker of the Year Award. Anyone can nominate a candidate for Social Worker of the Year.

Nomination Procedure

Nomination forms may also be requested from the NASW-NC Chapter office by calling 919-828-9650, or emailing Nomination forms must be accompanied by the following documentation and received by the NASW-NC Chapter office (in full) by December 15:

  1. History of employment and/or volunteer experience (with dates) OR resume.
  2. Discussion of how the nominee has benefited his/her clients, professional community, and social work profession. Specific examples are required.
  3. Discuss the nominee’s involvement in professional, civic and community organizations. Discuss statewide and/or regional impact on profession and substantial contributions to NASW. Please give specific examples.
  4. Attach two letters of recommendation/support.

Deadline for nominations is December 15.

Selection and Recognition of Recipients

All completed nomination packets received by December 15 will be reviewed by the NASW-NC Board of Directors and considered for the Award. In selecting the Social Worker of the Year, weight is placed on professional achievement having had far reaching impact on populations, respective agencies, the community, and the social work profession as a whole.

Here are some ways that NASW-NC recognizes the Social Worker of the Year:

  1. A photo of the award winner along with an article appears on the front page of the NASW-NC newsletter.
  2. Press releases may be sent to area media.
  3. Information about the winner is placed on the NASW-NC web page.
  4. Information about the winner is sent to the National office and the winners name is placed in the National NASW Awards program flyer.
  5. The winner is invited to attend any NASW-NC conference during the "year” of their selection, without having to pay the registration fee.
  6. The winner is presented with a plaque at the NASW-NC annual Ethics and Recognition & Awards Conference.
  7. The winner is recognized at any of the NASW-NC conferences that they attend.This recognition is usually in the form of a verbal announcement made during the announcements and introductions done during the conference plenary.
  8. If time frames allow, the winner will be nominated for the National NASW Social Worker of the Year Award.

For More Information

Nomination forms and additional information about the Social Worker of the Year Award are available from:
P.O. Box 27582
Raleigh, NC 27611-7582
Telephone: (919) 828-9650 or (800) 280-6207
Fax: (919) 828-1341


2020 Award Winner

Beth Vogler, MSW, Ph.D.

Click here to read more about Beth Vogler!


Past Award Winners

Jessica Holton - 2019

Iris Carlton-LaNey - 2018

Drew Pledger - 2017

Kelly Spangler - 2016

John Cowart - 2015

DeWitt Black - 2014

Deborah Grey - 2013
Barbara "Bebe" Smith - 2012

Cordelia Steele - 2011

JoAnn McCachern Swart - 2010

Daniel R. Beerman - 2009

Linda R. Williams - 2008

Anna Scheyett - 2007

Elaine Cummings - 2006

Steve Marson - 2005

William E. "Bill" Lamb - 2004

Larry Sharpe - 2003

Jennifer Woods Parker - 2002

James P. "Phil" Sprouse - 2001

Glenna Harford - 2000

Ann Johnson - 1999

Clarence Boyd - 1998

Patricia Heard - 1997

Andrea Benfield - 1996

Edna Ballard - 1995

Mary Ann Black - 1994

Eugene Sumner - 1993

Janet Andrews Johnson - 1992

Gaye Styron - 1991

Dorothy "Doe" Ferrell - 1990

Alice M. Sisson - 1989

Wilburn Hayden Jr. - 1988

E.C. Chip Modlin - 1987

Carolyn Thornton - 1986

Sue Applewhite - 1985

Almon Carr - 1984

Virginia Rigsbee - 1983

Constantine "Connie" Kledaras - 1982

Geraldine Calloway - 1981

Florence Ryan - 1980

Albert King - 1979

Don Boone - 1978

Ellen Winston - 1977


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal