Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
NASW-NC Presidents' Award

About the Presidents' Award


The Presidents' Award/Fund provides an annual award of $1,000 AND two years of NASW membership to an MSW student from a CSWE accredited social work program in North Carolina. This is an award that honors past NASW-NC presidents and is awarded to MSW students who demonstrate exceptional leadership skills and potential. The award is presented every March at the annual NASW-NC Ethics Conference and Recognition & Awards Luncheon held in Raleigh, NC.


Award Criteria

Applicants must be members of NASW who are expected to graduate within the current academic year from a CSWE-accredited (or in-candidacy status) MSW program in North Carolina. Each applicant must demonstrate exemplary performance and leadership in course work, field placement, student social work associations, university/college leadership roles, as well as other community organizations.


Selection and Recognition of Recipients

All completed applications received by December 15 will be reviewed by the Presidents' Award Committee, which is appointed by the NASW-NC Board of Directors. The Presidents' Award Committee reviews each application packet and selects a winner. The Committee Chair notifies the award recipient by phone, and notification is followed up in writing. A plaque and a check for $1,000 will be presented to the winner at the annual NASW-NC Ethics Conference and Recognition & Awards Luncheon. The award winner will be featured in an article in the NASW-NC Newsletter and on the NASW-NC website. A permanent nameplate for the winner will be added to the President's Award plaque located in the Chapter office.

Award Administration

The Presidents' Award Fund is held by the NASW Foundation in Washington, D.C. All donations made to the fund are tax-deductible. The North Carolina Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers donates costs for award administration and fundraising.

Application Procedure

Click here to download an application form. Application forms also may be requested from the NASW-NC Chapter office via phone, email, fax, or mail.  Students must submit completed application materials to NASW-NC. Please refer to the application form for a list of required application materials. Completed application packets must be received by December 15 to be eligible for consideration. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

For More Information

Applications and additional information about the Presidents' Award are available from:
P.O. Box 27582
Raleigh, NC  27611-7582
Telephone: (919) 828-9650 or (800) 280-6207
Fax: (919) 828-1341

Make A Donation

If you would like to make a donation to the NASW-NC Presidents' Award please click here.  Your donation is 100% tax deductible and 100% of your donation goes towards awards.


2017 Award Recipient

McKay Glasgow of UNC Wilmington

Read more about McKay here.


Past Award Recipients

2016 - Aayla Alexander

UNC Charlotte


2015 - Erum Agha

North Carolina Central University


2014 - Shannon Saville

Appalachian State University


2013 - Monica Haynes
Fayetteville State University

2012 - Rafél Lane
East Carolina University


2011 - Jessie Garnett
UNC-Greensboro/NC A&T
Joint Master of Social Work Program


2010 - Adriane Casalotti
UNC-Chapel Hill


2009 - Minda Howze Barefoot
UNC-Greensboro/NC A&T State University
Joint Master of Social Work Program


2008 - Rebecca Wharton
UNC-Greensboro/NC A&T State University
Joint Master of Social Work Program


2007 - Brian Williamson


2006 - Megan Letke
East Carolina University


2005 - Emilie Edwards
UNC-Chapel Hill


2004 - Holly Yaeger
UNC-Chapel Hill


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal